By Jena Williams

I might be biased, but I kinda think we have the best drivers here in Washington, but since we can only send 9 to the National Competition, we have to find some method to skim the cream off the top.

June 21st was the the Washington Trucking Associations’ Truck Driving Championships and it was a beautiful day to go out and cheer for your favorite driver.

The top driver in each category will proceed to the National Truck Driving Championships to be held August 12-16, 2014 at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center in Pittsburgh, PA.

Have you waited long enough for the results? The first place winners that will proceed to the nationals are:

First place winners

First place winners

Rick Colton, The Boeing Co., Twin Trailers

Gary Nickell, The Boeing Co., Tank Truck

Michael Mygatt, The Boeing Co., 3-Axle Van

Robert Hinds, FedEx, Step Van

Roy Garcia, Peninsula Truck Lines, Inc., 4-Axle Van

Lisa Bry, The Boeing Co., Straight Truck

Gary Bolen, The Boeing Co., 5-Axle Van

Jeffrey Maas, The Boeing Co., Flatbed

Not shown: Russell Miller, Safeway, Sleeper Berth


Second place winners

Second place winners

Chris Bates, Washington Closure Hanford, Tank Truck

Richard Corpinen, FedEx Ground, Step Van

Tracy Puthoff, The Odom Corporation, Straight Truck

Joshua Freidges, Old Dominion Freight Line, 5-Axle Van

Peter Lugar, The Boeing Co., 4-Axle Van

Paul Diavolkis, Walmart Transportation, Sleeper Berth

Tim Davis, Peninsula Truck Lines, 3-Axle Van

Josh Jenkins, Peninsula Truck Lines, Twin Trailers

Not shown: Jamie Dearn, Con-way, Flatbed


Third place winners

Third place winners

Joseph Grillo, Safeway, 5-Axle Van

Lindsey Garberg, FedEx Express, Step Van

John Pino, Brown Line, Sleeper Berth

Edwin Jweffeis, Safeway, Flatbed

Johnny Malone, Safeway, Twin Trailers

John Hanatishin, The Boeing Co., 4-Axle Van

Bill Franklin, Carlile Transportation Systems, Tank Truck

Gabe Jones, Safeway, 3-Axle Van

Not shown: Caesar Santana, Con-way, Straight Truck


Lisa Bry

Lisa Bry

The Grand Champion this year is Lisa Bry of The Boeing Co.


Tracy Puthoff

Tracy Puthoff

Rookie of the Year is Tracy Puthoff of Odom Corporation.


Congratulations to all the winners!

More information on the National event: